A little thank you.

I want to dedicate this post to the wonderful Chris Crook who has spent a good amount of time this year raising money for PSC Support. This is a charity that is very close to my heart as they are dedicated to helping people who are affected by Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis. They provide information and support to patients and their families, promote awareness of PSC and organ donation and support PSC-related medical practitioners and researchers by:

  • giving PSC patients access to the latest relevant medical information to promote patient participation in essential trials;
  • providing grants towards projects that have specific target outcomes.

psc

The charity is run completely by volunteers and they rely on charitable donations to keep them doing what they do!
Chris is my best friends Dad and every year he raises money for charity by running races, organising balls and other great things like that. This year he decided he would dedicate his fundraising efforts to PSC Support. It’s such a small charity and not many people have even heard of PSC so fundraising for this kind of cause is always a bit tougher than raising money for bigger, well known charities. I was so touched by his decision and also a tad concerned for his sanity when he told me he would be running TWO half marathons to raise the money, the Bristol Half Marathon and The Great West Run. Crazy man!

Chris set up a Just Giving page and posted it on Facebook to round up the sponsors and he spent the next few months training very hard in preparation for the races. Knowing he was dedicating so much time and effort to raise money for a charity that meant so much to me filled me with so much gratitude and I felt like I had someone working hard to help me and many other people beat this stupid, incurable disease! Chris’ self-less act gave me so much positivity.
My family and I went to support Chris at both races and watching him run over the finish line both times was amazing! We were all so proud and humbled by his efforts. He completed both races in great time and he managed to raise a grand total of £900 for PSC Support…that’s three times his target! What a star!
A HUGEEE thank you Chris and also to everyone who sponsored him.
http://www.justgiving.com/ChrisCrook2

I also just wanted to take this chance to say thank you everyone who has been reading and sharing my blog. I have found myself engulfed with kind words and support from so many people since sharing, I really did not expect it to reach as many people as it has done. So to those who have taken the time to read it and share it with others, I cannot thank you enough. You are all helping me in my aim to spread awareness of liver disease and organ donation and that is a wonderful thing!

thankyou

One thought on “A little thank you.

  1. He sounds like a great guy. It’s nice to know there are such people out there. He must care a great deal for you. Best wishes to him in all of his endeavors.

    Shelley

Leave a Reply

